HIV Awareness Organization

South Carolina HIV Council (SCHC) dba The Wright Wellness Center

The Wright Wellness Center

ABOUT US

The South Carolina HIV Council dba “The Wright Wellness Center” (WWC) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that serves anyone regardless of race, gender, socio-economic status, or sexual orientation. The agency was founded in 1994 as the African American HIV/AIDS Council to address HIV prevention and early intervention service gaps in South Carolina. In 2004, the name was changed to the “South Carolina HIV/AIDS Council”. In 2019, the name was changed to Wright Wellness Center to commemorate the late Cynthia Wright MSPH, a beloved supporter and employee of the agency and its mission. Since the beginning of the epidemic, South Carolina has continuously and consistently ranked in the top ten (10) among all states in the rate of HIV/AIDS until 2015 where South Carolina now ranks 13th.

It is a core belief of The Wright Wellness Center that, when it comes to matters of sexual health, secrecy and shame put lives at risk. For over twenty years, WWC has sought to combat stigma and reduce the spread of HIV and other sexually transmitted diseases in South Carolina through prevention, education, and advocacy. By engaging community leaders in necessary conversation, and meeting the needs of the most vulnerable—with free and rapid testing services, psychological counseling programs, and access to lifesaving medication—WWC extends quality healthcare to the community and neutralizes the atmosphere of judgment that still pervades public discussions around HIV. WWC and its initiatives are supported in part by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta, Georgia, and the South Carolina Department of Public Health, and other public and private investors who support the prevention and intervention efforts of an agency that seeks to stay at the forefront of innovation and advocacy.

The Wright Wellness Center created the first alternative testing prevention-counseling site in the state and has screened over 12,000 citizens within the Midlands since 2001. Through a contract with SCDHEC, WWC served as a technical assistance provider for five high incidence counties where community syphilis screening was initiated.

We remain unique from other AIDS Service Organizations throughout the state and local metropolitan statistical area (MSA) for our exclusive ownership of the first and only HIV/STI mobile testing unit and the Wright Wellness Center which opened in March 2014 as the only non-profit, community based evening/weekend STI treatment clinic in the Columbia area.

STAFF

WRIGHT WELLNESS CENTER STAFF

Dr. Bambi W. Gaddist, DrPH
Chief Executive Officer
dr.gaddist@wright-wellness.org

Dr. Jacob P. White, MD
Chief Operating Officer

dr.white@wright-wellness.org

Danita Blackwell
Chief Financial Officer
dblackwell@wright-wellness.org

Vivian Armstead
Project Coordinator 
varmstead@wright-wellness.org

Ernest Brown
Program Coordinator
ebrown@wright-wellness.org

Rhonda Thomas
Ryan White Program Coordinator
rthomas@wright-wellness.org

Jamie Troutman, MPH, PhD
Data Manager
jtroutman@wright-wellness.org

Staff Accountant

TBD (Vacant)

Shernell Sells
Sr. Community Health Specialist
ssells@wright-wellness.org

V. Amber Hasben
Office Manager
ahasben@wright-wellness.org

Conrad Brooks
Community Health Specialist
cbrooks@wright-wellness.org

Courtney Hightower
Community Health Specialist
chightower@wright-wellness.org

Stephen Hancock, CMA
Community Health Specialist
shancock@wright-wellness.org

Chestley Price
Sr. Community Health Specialist
cprice@wright-wellness.org

Ronnie Goodman
Sr. Community Health Specialist
rgoodman@wright-wellness.org

Outreach Specialist

TBD (Vacant)

Corey Wells
Peer Adhearance Coach
cwells@wright-wellness.org

Selena Lowery, MA
Lead Medical Case Manager
slowery@wright-wellness.org

Michael Robertson
Senior Community Health Specialist
mrobertson@wright-wellness.org

Tessie Haywood, MA
SAMHSA Project Coordinator
thaywood@wright-wellness.org

Adrian Lewis, RMA
Community Health Specialist
alewis@wright-wellness.org

Linda Scipio
Senior Community Health Specialist
lscipio@wright-wellness.org

Medical Case Manager

TBD (Vacant)

Insurance Navigation Specialist

TBD (Vacant)

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Paula Vinson– Board Chair

Frances Ashe-Goins

Karol Widemon, Board Secretary

Dr. Bambi Gaddist, ex-officio member